Ochoa Investigations LLC - A "Full Service" Investigation and Security Guard Company
Texas CHL Certification Course
 
The State of Texas has adopted legislation that allows its law abiding citizens to carry concealed handguns for self protection. Obtaining a Concealed Handgun License for the State of Texas requires successful completion of a minimum 10 hour certification course which is outlined by the Texas Department of Public Safety and covers topics on the use of force, gun safety, gun storage, conflict resolution and Texas laws pertaining to use of force as a defense, licensing requirements and laws regulating concealed handgun license holders.
To obtain a Concealed Handgun License in the State of Texas you must complete the 10 hour course, qualify with a handgun in accordance with the DPS course of fire, and pass a 50 question exam. A student must then apply to the state and pay the current fees and undergo a complete background check for the state to issue a license. There is currently no requirement as to which order an applicant must follow regarding class and online application. The entire process requires the completion of both. Either may be completed before the other.
Applicants may complete their State of Texas Online Applicationwhich includes all application questions, affidavits, and payment arrangements. Fingerprints may then be obtained at a L1-Identity location after the application has been completed and payment received online. The completed application checklist, along with the required proficiency certificate (CHL-100) issued by our instructor can then be returned to the DPS along with two passport style photos and the CHL-6 signature page, to complete the application process. If you have questions pertaining to your already submitted application, please contact the DPS CHL Division directly at 512-424-7293.
 
All application documents should be sent directly to the DPS at: 
Regulatory Licensing Service MSC 0245 
Texas Department of Public Safety 
PO Box 15888 
Austin, TX 78761-5888 

STANDARD COURSE: $100.00
Texas CHL Eligibility
 
It is not the responsibility of Texas CHL or it's Instructors to determine eligibility of students or persons seeking to obtain a Concealed Handgun License. Review eligibility requirements closely before registering as class fees are NOT refundable. Please direct any questions about eligibility to the DPS Website: www.txdps.state.tx.us
A person is eligible for a license to carry a concealed handgun if the person:
§  is a legal resident of this state for the six month period preceding the date of application,
§  is at least 21 years of age (military 18 - 21 years of age now eligible - 2005 Texas CHL Law change),
§  has not been convicted of a felony,
§  is not currently charged with the commission of a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or equivalent offense, or an offense under Sec. 42.01 of the penal Code (Disorderly Conduct) or equivalent offense,
§  is not a fugitive from justice for a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or equivalent offense,
§  is not a chemically dependant person (a person with two convictions within the ten year period preceding the date of application for offenses (Class B or greater) involving the use of alcohol or a controlled substance is ineligible as a chemically dependant person. Other evidence of chemical dependency may also make an individual ineligible for a CHL),
§  is not incapable of exercizing sound judgement with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun,
§  has not, in the five years preceding the application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or equivalent offense, or an offense under Section 42.01 of the Penal Code (Disorderly Conduct) or equivalent offense,
§  is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun,
§  has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making child support administered or collected by the attorney general,
§  has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, state treasurer, tax collector of a policital subdivision, Alcohol Beverage Commission or any other agency or subdivision,
§  is not currently restricted under a court protective order subject to a restraining order affecting a spousal relationship,
§  has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law in the grade of felony,
§  has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174 or in a request for application submitted pursuant to Section 411.175.